PPS-MKE Leaders

As the first members and current Board of Directors of PPS-MKE, we are 13 individuals who offer our experience, ideas, opinions and beliefs about the value of high-quality public education in our democracy – and in Milwaukee Public Schools. We’re members of 15 different school communities throughout MPS, and looking to hear from many more schools.

We believe that all Milwaukee’s children deserve access to high-quality public education; we believe that not all of them have that access. Yet. Our best schools need more to serve more children. And we need more of our best schools. We believe that real reform is best accomplished from the inside out, and as parents, grandparents and alumni of Milwaukee Public Schools, we have seen how public schools in Milwaukee can work for our children. Many of us are MPS success stories.

In a time of slashed state funding, increased privatization of public education, deepening urban and rural poverty, and intense politicization of education policy and practice, we’re ready to work with fellow Milwaukeeans to find solutions that can strengthen all our public schools, for all our children.

Let’s meet. Here are a few of our PPS-MKE introductions:

Tanya Ingvoldstad Otero
– membership committee
Alumna and parent: Milwaukee High School of the Arts
Parent: Milwaukee School of Language, La Escuela Fratney

Nakia Gordon – board member
Parent: Highland Community School

Angela McManaman – secretary
Parent: Golda Meir Middle School, La Escuela Fratney

Patty Stevenson – member at large
Parent: Milwaukee School for Languages


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s